• +34 93 409 54 10


History03 360x420

History04 360x420

A new institute called Instituto Jaume Almera de Investigaciones Geológicas (IJAIG) was created in 1965 in the setting of a major reorganization of the CSIC, under the direction of Dr. Lluís Solé Sabarís. This Institute grouped the sections of the Institute Lucas Mallada located at the University of Barcelona and the research was focused on the Geological Sciences with major emphasis in the regions near Barcelona (Pyrenees, Coastal Catalonian Ranges and Ebro Basin).

Between 1978 and 1979, within a substantial change in the structure of CSIC, the IJAIG became a center of the CSIC, independent of the University of Barcelona, and moved their headquarters from the University of Barcelona in the Universitat Square of Barcelona to the building of CSIC in the Egipcíaques Street, being Dr. A. López Soler new director of the Institute. The structure of the Institute comprised 4 Structural Research Units (UEI) until 1981: Biostratigraphy, Regional and Marine Geology, Mineralogy and X-ray Diffraction and Crystal Structures.

The construction of the present building of the Institute in the Pedralbes Campus of Barcelona finished in 1981, being officially inaugurated in 1982. The Library of Geology was established in 1983 with the bibliographic and cartographic collections of the Institute and the Faculty of Geology of the University of Barcelona. This collaboration between both institutions is also reflected in joint research projects and master and doctoral programs.

In the early 80's, the name of the center changed to Instituto de Investigaciones Geologicas Jaume Almera (IIGJA) and it was composed of 2 Structural Research Units (UEI): Marine Geology and Resources and Materials. The Marine Geology Unit was assigned in 1986 to the Instituto de Ciencias del Mar (formerly Instituto de Investigaciones Pesqueras) and a group of researchers from the IIGJA became part of the Instituto de Ciencias de Materiales of Barcelona, created that year.

With a new reorganization from 1987 (which remained until 1992), the Institute was made up of 2 Structural Research Units (UEI): Environmental Geology and Geophysics. In late 1988, the name of the center became Instituto de Ciencias de la Tierra Jaume Almera (ICTJA). Dr. E. Banda was the director between 1988 and 1991.

Since 1993, the ICTJA had 3 Structural Research Units (UEI): Geophysics, Environmental Geology and Natural Hazards. These UEIs (Departments from 1994) remained until 2005 with slight name changes. Dr. A López Soler became director between 1991 and 2000, Dr. M. Torné between 2000 and 2001, and Dr. C. Ayora between 2001 and 2005. Moreover, being director Dr. Manel Fernández (2005-2012), the Institute was reorganized in 2006 into 4 departments: Sedimentary Geology, Environmental Geosciences and Crystallography, Structure and Dynamics of the Earth, and Geophysics and Geohazards.

There was a restructuring of CSIC in 2008 and a group of researchers from the Institute together with researchers from the Instituto de Investigaciones Químicas y Ambientales and from the Instituto de Biología Molecular de Barcelona created the new Instituto de Diagnóstico Ambiental y del Agua. Since 2009, the structure of ICTJA consists of 2 departments: Earth’s Structure and Dynamics and Crystallography, and Environmental Geology and Geohazards.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by www.channeldigital.co.uk